Perfume Review – Black Opium by YSL

image2 (2).jpg

I’ve recently started using Black Opium by Yves Saint Laurent. It’s a dark, sexy scent which is best worn when the lights go down. For something with heavy and sensual notes, like coffee, cedar, and vanilla, it manages to smell youthful, vibrant, and a little sweet. It’s quite feminine, and is enlivened by white floral scents. It can be a little intense when first applied, but I think that it settles quite nicely on my skin, and becomes a little warmer and cosier throughout the night.

What is a perfume review without some mention of the packaging? The bottle feels substantial and heavy, which I like. I also think that the window is aesthetically pleasing, and lightens up an otherwise dark bottle. The bottle doesn’t sparkle as much in real life as it does in the promotional pictures, and the glitter gives the bottle an interesting texture, which isn’t entirely pleasing. All in all, the bottle looks nice, and definitely deserves a place on your shelf.

Overall, I think that it is a lovely perfume, although it may not be for everyone. I think you will enjoy it if you like scents like Viktor and Rolf’s Flowerbomb, or Calvin Klein’s Euphoria. It settles differently on everyone’s skin, so give it a try at your local counter before you make up your mind.

5 thoughts on “Perfume Review – Black Opium by YSL

  1. That is my signature perfume from moment I tried the little sampler. The scent is so me and I simply adore it! 💕 Also, it would be great if you followed me back so we could support each other on this road of blogging 😊 👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

