My Evening Skincare Routine 2016

FotorCreated2

Everything that I know about skincare, I got from reading Caroline Hirions blog. If you haven’t been to her site, go check it out! She is the master of everything skincare. This is the skincare routine that I use most evenings.

IMG_1566.jpg

First Cleanse

The first thing that I do is ‘take off the day’ by doing a first cleanse. I usually do this with Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. I put it on dry skin and then wash it off with a clean flannel or washcloth and warm water. It is really creamy, mild, and non-irritating and it does a good job of taking off any makeup or sunscreen. It’s also relatively inexpensive, and easy to find at any pharmacy or supermarket, which is always nice.

IMG_1570.jpg

Second Cleanse

I do a second cleanse when I’ve been wearing make up or SPF during the day. The second cleanse does a little more for your skin, so I like to use something with a little more to it. I just rub it in gently and wash it off using the flannel or washcloth and warm water. I’ve recently been using Ren Evercalm Gentle Cleansing Milk. I’ve really been enjoying this cleanser; it feels nice and soothing on the skin,  and I think that my skin is looking better for it!

IMG_1577.jpg

Acid Tone

Twice a week I like to use Alpha-H Liquid Gold in place of a normal toner. I have to say, this stuff is aptly named; it really is liquid gold! It’s an acid toner with glycolic acid, and it’s a bit of a cult product. I was initially a little nervous to try it because of my sensitive skin, but it’s helped to smooth out and soften my skin. It’s pretty reasonably priced as well. I’ve been using it for a while and I am definitely keeping this in my rotation.

IMG_1581.jpg

‘Toner’

A lot of people don’t really consider SK-II’s Facial Treatment Essence as a toner. It’s more of a skin booster, which should be used after cleansing the skin and before any moisturisers, treatments or serums. I just dab it straight onto my skin, although you could also use a cotton pad. I’ve been using this for a few years now, and I love the way it makes my skin look and feel. It’s a little expensive, but it is totally worth it!

IMG_1574.jpg

Hydrating Spray

After toning, I like to use a hydrating spray. I love to use this Rosewater Balancing Mist by Jurlique. It smells really lovely, like freshly cut roses. It’s also really soothing and hydrating on the skin after using the toner and it always feels super luxurious. It feels like it is adding a little extra moisture after the toner, which can sometimes feel a little stripping. It has definitely helped to soften and smooth out my skin.

IMG_1590.jpg

Eye Cream

I got this sample of SK-II Stempower Eye Cream a while back. It feels really smooth and silky, and I like how quickly it seeps into the skin. I think it has worked wonders for my under-eye area. It has reduced my under-eye circles and has helped with a little discolouration. It’s almost magical! Although I don’t know if I can justify buying a whole pot of it! Do you have any recommendations for a mid-range eye cream? Or should I just go for the splurge?

IMG_1582.jpg

Treatment

I’ve been using Indeed Laboratories Hydraluron as a treatment. I decided to purchase it after hearing Caroline Hirion rave about it on her blog. It contains hyaluronic acid, a natural component in your skin which decreases with age. It helps to plump up the skin by retaining moisture. It works really well and I’ve fallen in love after only a few weeks! It’s a lot more cost-effective than a lot of other treatments on the market. It feels super luxurious on the skin, and it’s made my skin feel amazing.

IMG_1585.jpg

Moisturiser

My current night cream is the Nivea Daily Essentials Regenerating Night Cream. It’s pretty thick, and honestly, it isn’t totally to my tastes. I prefer a moisturiser that sinks into the skin quickly. Do you have a good night cream that you would recommend?

5 thoughts on “My Evening Skincare Routine 2016

  1. great post! i love reading skincare routines 🙂
    tempted by that hydraluron for quite some time now!
    also, the sk-ii products sound fab!
    you have a lovely blog! keep them posts coming 😀
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I think the hydraluron is my favourite addition to my skincare routine. I did a fair amount of research looking for a new serum/treatment and it is by far and away the best value for money. It feels like an expensive product but with a drugstore pricetag (massive win!) 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

