February Favourites 2016

DSC_3527.jpg

Triangle necklace from Laondrim

I’m totally in love with this triangle necklace from Laondrim! It was a wonderful gift from my sister for my birthday this year. I love the geometric design and the rich rose gold colour. I’ve been stacking it with my rose gold bar necklace from Correy and Lyon and I think that they look really cute together.

DSC_3471.jpg

Aloha by OPI

February is always a hot month here in Australia. In summer, I love painting my toenails in a bright coral colour, especially when I know that I’m going to be down at the beach or wearing thongs (flip flops for you non-aussies). This summer I’ve been wearing Aloha by OPI.

Wieliczka Bath Salts

February has been the month of bath salts (no, not that kind). I’ve been more of a bath bomb gal in the past, but this month I’ve been really into bath salts. In particular, I’ve been enjoying the Wieliczka bath salts in the spring roses scent. I got it from the Wieliczka Salt Mine near Krakow when I was on holiday in Europe just before Christmas (which is seriously spectacular). It was a bit of an impulse purchase, but I’ve been enjoying it a lot.

Snow Fairy Shower Gel

Oh man, this shower gel! It smells like Allen’s Red Frogs. So good! And it sparkles like fairy dust! It’s a good shower gel as well; it foams up and lathers well and is pretty moisturising. I haven’t noticed the sparkles staying on the skin; so don’t worry about looking like a disco ball. Sadly, it’s a festive special, but you should definitely keep at eye out for it at the end of the year.

DSC_3491.jpg

Erin Condren Life Planner

I know I’m totally late to the planner party (it’s well past being fashionable), but I’ve been loving my erin condren life planner this month. I won’t lie; it took me a little while to get into. I was worried that I would muck it up, but then I realized that I was being ridiculous – planners are made for planning, not just for looking pretty! So slowly over February I’ve been using it more and more. Enough to declare it a true favourite! I really like how colourful the planner is, and its really sturdy, despite being spiral bound. Having a vertical planner rather than a horizontal planner is new for me, I think I like it, but I’m not really using all of the boxes yet. How do you guys use your planner?

Leuchttrum 1917 Journal

I’m back on the journaling train! I started a journal last year, and tried to write in it daily. Ultimately, that was unsustainable, and I ditched it altogether because it was just becoming another source of stress in my life. This year, I’m trying to let go a little. I only write in it when I feel like it, and I stick little memorabilia like concert tickets in as well.

 DSC_3480.jpg

Book club

In January this year, I started a book club with a few close friends. So far we’ve read The Messenger, by Markus Zusak (watch out for my book nook post coming soon!). We’re currently reading The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan. These are two books that I would have never picked up by myself, which I guess is the point of our book club. We had our first meeting in February and it was so much fun! We had a great time discussing the book and everyone had different ideas and perspectives. We opened a couple of bottles of wine and nibbled on some cheese and crackers – my perfect kind of night! Being a part of a monthly book club has been a lot of fun. It’s also been a great way to keep up regularly with some friends.

DSC_3489.jpg

Sleepytime Vanilla Tea by Celestial Seasonings

I’m a big fan of herbal teas before bed. They are nice and soothing, especially in the colder months. I first tried this Sleepytime Vanilla tea when I was staying with a good friend in Canberra in January. You can really taste the chamomile and the vanilla. It also is quite refreshing, thanks to a little spearmint and lemongrass. If you like herbal teas, I would definitely recommend this one.

My Birthday

My birthday is always a February favourite. Birthdays are a wonderful excuse to hang out with friends and family. Which means that Februarys are always filled with dinners out, winery lunches, coffees, and catch-ups.

2 thoughts on “February Favourites 2016

Leave a Reply

